Skip OSU and Dentistry navigation, view page content
The Ohio State University College of Dentistry  

  1. Dean Carole Anderson with Dr. William Meyers

College Presents William J. Meyers Endowed Chair in Endodontics

May, 2009

At a reception on May 19th, College of Dentistry Professor Emeritus William J. Meyers was recognized with the presentation of an endowed chair named in his honor. Dean Carole Anderson made the official announcement of the William J. Meyers Endowed Chair in Endodontics, which will support a distinguished endodontic educator and researcher.

A longtime faculty member and administrator in the Division of Endodontics, Dr. Meyers joined the College of Dentistry in 1976, providing outstanding leadership as the Endodontic Division Chair from 1976 to 1995. Throughout his distinguished career, Meyers has been honored with a number of prestigious awards, including the (2005) I.B. Bender Lifetime Educator Award from the American Association of Endodontists.

Dr. Meyers has also served as president of the Columbus Dental Society and he is the past president of the Ohio Association of Endodontists. Still a part-time faculty member in the Division of Endodontics, Dr. Meyers said of the endowed chair named in his honor, “This is great – not because I’m great in any way, but because this endowed chair will be a wonderful thing for the Division of Endodontics.” Meyers added, “I’d like to thank everyone who made a contribution that helped to accomplish this goal. Your efforts and your generosity are amazing and I'm very honored.”