Skip OSU and Dentistry global navigation, go to section navigation
Skip all navigation, go to page content
The Ohio State University College of Dentistry  

Pediatric Dentistry and Community Oral Health

Richard Baxter

From L-R: AAPD President, Warren Brill, Dr. Rosalyn Sulyanto, AAPD CE John Rutkauskas

Pediatric Dental Research Honored

The prestigious Ralph E. McDonald Award to 2013 Pediatric Dentistry graduate Rosalyn Sulyanto. The McDonald award is given to the outstanding graduate pediatric dental research project after oral presentations at the AAPD Annual Session. Dr. Sulyanto's project, Acquisition of the Oral Microbiome in Infants, was chosen from a field of eight finalists for the esteemed award.

Included amongst the finalists was fellow alum, Dr. Jeffrey Howenstein. Dr. Howenstein's project, Correlating Parenting Styles with Child Behavior and Caries, was advised by faculty member Ashok Kumar.

Dr. Sulyanto's research advisor is faculty member Dr. Ann Griffen, and this is Dr. Griffen's fourth time as research advisor to a McDonald Awardee. Ohio State University Pediatric Dentistry has the honor of six past McDonald award winners in total, as listed below:

2014: Rosalyn Sulyanto
2012: Erin Gross
2011: Stephen Beck
2001: Mitzi Becker
1998: AnnMarie Matusek
1996: Margaret M. Tuite

Many more alumni have been featured as finalists! Congratulations to OSU-NCH Pedo on another outstanding year of research!

More Division news >

Division of Pediatric Dentistry and Community Oral Health
OSU College of Dentistry
305 West 12th Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210
614-292-1125 (fax)

This site maintained by the Division of Pediatric Dentistry and Community Oral Health of the Ohio State University College Of Dentistry and was last updated on 06/10/2012